MPs also voted by 353 votes to 243 in favour of the government`s proposed timetable for the bill. Clear support for the bill marked a decisive break with the parliamentary impasse that has characterized the past two years. Boris Johnson has presented his first bill to the new Parliament and successfully called on him to back his WITHDRAWAL AGREEMENT FROM THE EU. Find out how each MEP voted. Former Prime Minister Theresa May is now in deep conversation with her former Chief Whip Julian Smith. They probably remember how much fun it was when their withdrawal agreement was hammered at every vote earlier this year Neil Gray (Scottish National Party – Airdrie and Shotts) (Patrick Grady`s proxy vote) Chloe Smith (Conservative – Norwich North) (Jo Churchill`s proxy vote) Kemi Badenoch (Conservative – Safran Walden) (Leo Docherty`s proxy vote) The government lost the calendar vote by 308 to 322. A majority of MEPs voted 263 no to Northern Ireland (ways and means) and 359 against. Emma Reynolds (Labour – Wolverhampton North East) (Pat McFadden`s deputy vote) This was the first time MPs voted for one of the Brexit bills introduced in the House of Commons. In tonight`s vote, MPs split 52%/48% for Johnson`s deal – the same ratio the country used to vote to leave the EU in the 2016 referendum. The refocused House of Commons looks very different from the one that voted on the Withdrawal Agreement in October. Despite support for the bill, not all Labour MPs agreed with the timetable proposed by the government. That would have meant that the bill would have passed the House of Commons by the end of Thursday.

Under this schedule, MPs will review the details of the bill for two days when the House of Commons returns in January. MPs voted overwhelmingly in favour of the latest Brexit law. Many of the former Conservative MPs who lost the whip in an earlier vote to rebel against the government have also left. Some voting information from PublicWhip. Last updated: 29.09.2020. Please share these voices responsibly. MEPs voted on the government`s withdrawal agreement at second reading. With Boris Johnson`s majority of 80, the bill passed by a comfortable margin, with 358 votes in favour and 234 against. Charles Michel, the president of the European Council, welcomed the vote, tweeting that it was an “important step in the process of ratifying Article 50”. He added: “A level playing field remains indispensable for any future relationship,” referring to the EU`s demand for fair competition in exchange for a free trade agreement with zero tariffs and zero quotas.

The European Parliament plans to ratify the withdrawal agreement on 29 January, if the next steps in Westminster go as planned and pave the way for the UK`s withdrawal from the EU on 31 January. That`s how your MP voted tuesday night in the two largest Brexit votes in the House of Commons. Some Labour MPs have written on Twitter about why they chose to abstain in this afternoon`s vote. Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West, said she had always said she would not vote for some form of Brexit that would harm the people she represented, but she realised that her voters wanted the UK to leave the EU. MEPs voted in favour of the withdrawal agreement to take the UK out of the European Union and end a series of defeats for the government on Brexit. MEPs described as “not voted” may not have done so for a number of reasons. They may wish to abstain or may have constituency or ministerial matters. The President and his deputies cannot vote and Sinn Fein members traditionally do not vote. Today`s vote means that MPs have endorsed the general principles of the law and are now moving on to the “committee phase”, where a more detailed review will take place.